Schedule  :   Entry List  :   Downloads  :   Contact Us  

2009 Trail of the Gnu

Congratulations Peter Hill and Geoff Hill on another overall victory at the Trail of the Gnu! This year's rally had an extra tight battle for top spot with only 7 seconds worth of penalties separating the top 4 contenders. Jennifer Daly and Leanne Junnila won calculator class and placed second overall, and the top novice crew of Shane McAssey and Mark Geusebroek narrowly edged out 5 time Canadian Rally Champion Taisto Heinonen and navigator Jim Bowie for the third step on the podium. The organizers would like to thank all the competitors (a record turn out of 24 starters and better yet, 24 finishers!), we hope you had a great time. Also, special thanks to Carl, our sweep, and Travis, Shawn, and Josh for checkpointing, and of course Kurt for checkpointing and scoring the event. We're already thinking about next year, and hope many of you will be back to take on the Gnu once more.


Pos Novice Car Class Driver Navigator Vehicle Total
11UPeter HillGeoff Hill2003 Subaru WRX 71
23CJennifer DalyLeanne Junnila2004 Subaru WRX73
3122NShane McAsseyMark Geusebroek1998 GMC K150076
42UTaisto HeinonenJim Bowie1986 Toyota MR278
56UBob FriesenHeather Friesen1971 Alfa Romeo Berlina106
613CAdam VokesChris Maydaniuk2000 Ford Focus110
74URichard ChildsHelen Welter1974 BMW 2002111
829NMark Lea-WilsonMatt Vincent1992 Plymouth Laser126
97CJason MizzoniShane Ewert2002 Subaru WRX131
108CKevin RobbinsKenton Robbins2007 Subaru WRX STi168
11310NMatt BobynDan Bobyn1994 VW Golf184
12412NBill DubreuilJacqueline Dubreuil2001 Subaru Outback196
1311CJim GemmellBrad Gemmell1991 Subaru Legacy221
14519NTim AddisonGraham Beauregard2005 Subaru Impreza245
15624NMichel GhaouiClaudia Stoica2008 Toyota Tacoma437
16717NJohn NowostawskiEric Bosak2007 Subaru 2.5i SE439
17816NRoman KarskiPeter Karski2003 Hyundai Tiburon461
18923NEmile El-HachemMohamad Krayem2008 Toyota FJ Cruiser561
191020NTyler SimpsonDave Simpson1995 VW Golf606
201118NJennifer RobinKeith Woynorowski1998 Dodge Neon637
211221NSean NowekJeff Hess1993 Subaru WRX750
225CJamie AlisonCindy Alison1987 Audi 4000772
231314NScott HetheringtonKale McKenzie2007 Subaru WRX STi921
241415NLiz SchellhornJoe English1992 Geo Metro1313

View the Detailed Results (2009_GNU_Official_Results.pdf)

2009 Trail of the Gnu


The Trail of the Gnu is a challenging snow, ice, and gravel navigational rally, round 1 of the Rallywest TSD Rally Championship, and also part of the CSCC TSD Rally series. The rally will be run under Rallywest rules, which can be found somewhere on The approximate length of the rally is 600km, of which no more than 20% will be on clear pavement, with the remaining 80% or more on snow, ice, mud, and gravel. There will be a maximum of 250km between fuel stops.

Although hosted by the Calgary Sports Car Club, the Gnu is based out of Rocky Mountain House, and every year the stunning back roads and mountain backdrop of the area have raised both the risks and the rewards of this challenging event. Be prepared for some exciting roads, some challenging average speeds, and some great fun with good rally people.

For more information, please check the event supplemental regulations, posted on this site.

"The roads you found were outstanding, and the conditions this year made it even better (at least, as far as I'm concerned). The combinations of average speed changes, road choice, and surface conditions made for challenging teamwork and really enjoyable driving." Josh Keatley, Winner of the 2008 Trail of the Gnu

Start Order

No Driver Navigator Vehicle Class
1Peter Hill, Airdrie ABGeoff Hill, Calgary AB2003 Subaru WRX Unlim
2Taisto Heinonen, Hope BCJim Bowie, Kamloops BC1986 Toyota MR2Unlim
3Jennifer Daly, Kelowna BCLeanne Junnila, Calgary AB2004 Subaru WRXCalc
4Richard Childs, Calgary ABHelen Welter, Calgary AB1974 BMW 2002Unlim
5Jamie Alison, Calgary ABCindy Alison, Calgary AB1987 Audi 4000Calc
6Bob Friesen, Calgary ABHeather Friesen, Calgary AB1971 Alfa Romeo BerlinaUnlim
7Jason Mizzoni, Calgary ABShane Ewert, Calgary AB2002 Subaru WRXCalc
8Kevin Robbins, Bawlf ABKenton Robbins, Edmonton AB2007 Subaru WRX STiCalc
9Mark Lea-Wilson, Edmonton ABMatt Vincent, Edmonton AB1992 Plymouth LaserNovice
10Matt Bobyn, Calgary ABDan Bobyn, Calgary AB1994 VW GolfNovice
11Jim Gemmell, Alberta Beach ABBrad Gemmell, Alberta Beach AB1991 Subaru LegacyCalc
12Bill Dubreuil, Calgary ABJacqueline Dubreuil, Calgary AB2001 Subaru OutbackNovice
13Adam Vokes, Red Deer ABChris Maydaniuk, Kamloops BC2000 Ford FocusCalc
14Scott Hetherington, RkyMtnHs ABKale McKenzie, RkyMtnHs AB2007 Subaru WRX STiNovice
15Liz Schellhorn, Nelson BCJoe English, Nelson BC1992 Geo MetroNovice
16Roman Karski, Calgary ABPeter Karski, Calgary AB2003 Hyundai TiburonNovice
17John Nowostawski, Calgary ABEric Bosak, Calgary AB2007 Subaru 2.5i SENovice
18Jennifer Robin, Stony Plain ABKeith Woynorowski, Stony Plain AB1998 Dodge NeonNovice
19Tim Addison, Calgary ABGraham Beauregard, Calgary AB2005 Subaru ImprezaNovice
20Tyler Simpson, Calgary ABDave Simpson, Calgary AB1995 VW GolfNovice
21Sean Nowek, Red Deer ABJeff Hess, Red Deer AB1993 Subaru WRXNovice
22Shane McAssey, Edmonton ABMark Geusebroek, St. Albert AB1998 GMC K1500Novice
23Emile El-Hachem, Calgary ABMohamad Krayem, Calgary AB2008 Toyota FJ CruiserNovice
24Michel Ghaoui, Calgary, ABClaudia Stoica, Calgary AB2008 Toyota TacomaNovice


March 15 2009

We had a long day out in the forest. We are really excited with what has come together, and those who enter are in for a treat. Pre run photos are up!

March 12 2009

Event regulations and entry forms are now online, and entries are coming in. First group email announcements will be going out tomorrow.

Fees and Costs

$75 for Calgary Sports Car Club members (or members of other C.A.R.S affiliated clubs)
$90 for non-members.
* Fees are per team (car, driver, and navigator).
* Teams who entered the 2009 Novice Winter Event are elegible for a further $10 discount.

Maximum entries accepted: 25

Officials of the Event

Rallymaster Eric Grochowski
(403) 277-2710
Registrar Eric Grochowski
(see above)
Co-Organizer Kris Schofield
Sweep Carl Barrell
Scoring Kurt Schantz


Wednesday March 18 Last day to book a room at the Best Western before the block of rooms is released.
Friday March 20
Midnight Close of early entries. Preliminary start order assigned.
Entries received before midnight on this day are entered in a draw to win a rally related prize.

Tuesday March 24 Start order to be determined and published online.

Thursday March 26
7:30PM Novice TSD Rally School
Calgary Sports Car Club building (4215 80th Avenue NE Calgary)
Free to all competitors. This school will teach you all the basics to get through the Gnu. Essential for first time competitors, especially Navigators.
Saturday March 28
8:30AM - 10:30AM Registration and Scrutineering
Best Western Rocky Mountain House Inn & Suites
4407 41st Ave (T4T 1J6)
Rocky Mountain House, AB T4T 1A5

11:00AM Drivers Meeting and distribution of Route Books
12:00PM Car '0' start time, rally begins.
8:00PM Approximate finish time, awards and banquet
Boston Pizza, Rocky Mountain House AB.

Forms & Regulations

Entry Form (2009_Gnu_Entry_Blank.pdf) pdf
Supplemental Regulations (2009_Gnu_SuppRegs.pdf) pdf

These documents use the Adobe Acrobat format which requires the Free Acrobat Reader

2007 Photos